Breakfast, anyone?

Breakfast is served

The problem of not eating breakfast, for me, isn’t actually about breakfast. The fact is, I’m usually pretty good about meal planning, mostly because I’m something of a food snob (read: Italian – see previous blogpost). I usually remember to pack my lunch (or have already decided to eat somewhere else that day). I got better about breakfasts after I realized what an impact not having breakfast had on my migraine count. I tend to go in cycles, I’ll drink protein shakes for a week or two, then eat eggs for a few days, sometimes I just have brown rice. Recently I discovered a love for apples and so have been having them for breakfast on and off for the last…hmmm…couple of months, I guess.

I've eaten about this many honeycrisps this year

So, if those are all the ways I’m good about breakfast, then where’s the problem? The problem comes in when I get thrown off my schedule. If I plan to run in the morning, I don’t eat breakfast till I get home. Except if for some reason I don’t manage my run (issues with the dog, emergencies that arise during the night, some new errand) I will look up and discover it’s 2 pm and I haven’t eaten a thing. This is generally bad news for my migraine count. And it isn’t just on running days. A sharp disruption in my schedule – even a non-physical, emotional disruption – can throw off all my great planning skills.

On a day when I get distracted enough to forget my breakfast, I get home and I’m not just hungry. I’m hungry AND I feel deprived. So when I start for my late lunch, I’m not just thinking about eating, I’m also thinking about soothing that poor, deprived me.

I started my day today in something of a panic, racing about, trying to get things done before I had to head in to work. Once I was at work, I had to work (obviously) and didn’t even think about eating. When I got home today I wasn’t even hungry, but I knew I needed to eat, so I started water for pasta. Pasta is a favorite of mine, so in order to keep myself from going overboard, I did two things. First, I only cooked one serving. My usual tendency is to make enough for 2 servings, ostensibly so that there is enough to eat the next day, but if I’m having a rough day, I’m just as likely to eat them both. The second thing I did was fill my bowl half way with broccoli before I even added the pasta.

Mmmm...broccoli

I’m not saying that I didn’t overeat – I probably still ate too much for one sitting. But do I think I saved myself from that way-too-full feeling AND the residual guilt that would have accompanied it. Part of what helped me was the Reinvention Project that I am participating in this month. Even though it’s all happening virtually, knowing that there are a bunch of other people out there trying to make positive changes in their lives kept me thinking about my choices as I got my meal together. Thanks, everyone!

I love tortellini.

Leave a comment

Kiera's bookish thoughts

Young Adult book blog

BooksAllWays

Diverse folx review #ownvoices books

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

Tim Miller

Poetry * Mythology * Podcast

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

all the books read and not yet read