Archive for November 14th, 2013

Clomipramine – WTF?

So, as many of you know, Bodhi has had some “issues” with anxiety for as long as I’ve had him. Our short stint in a basement apartment outside of Boston pushed that anxiety over the edge and Bodhi has been taking Clomipramine, a tricyclic, ever since. (I was sure I had written about this, but apparently I did not – it was an insane situation – I’ll post something about it soon)

It took some doing for me to agree to try medication, but once he was on I was glad I did. It helps him stay calmer and he gets along better with other dogs, too. I’ve tried, from time to time, to lower his dose or take him off, with more or less immediate effect – you can see it within days. He get antsy, freaks out about other dogs, whines and cries. So, I’m committed to keeping him on the medication. He’s already an older dog for his breed and it seems to make him happier, and me, too.

Meanwhile, this summer, the cost of his medication went from $90 for 6 months to $3478!! Really?! Are you kidding me? I was completely freaked out for a couple of days, trying to find an alternative. I found that in some places, I could still buy the “dog version” (I was buying the human version at Walgreens before) for less than $3000, but still at an increased price. Now, rather than $15 a month, I’m paying $150. 

Additionally, I’m not sure where to even get the pills for next month, as I’ve had to switch online pharmacies twice already as they “sell out” of his medication. 

While I realize Bodhi is a dog and the bigger story really is about people who depend on this same medication (the price went up for everyone), for me, this is nearly devastating. I’m on a very fixed income for another few months, and as I was looking at my finances the other day, I was telling myself, well, I haven’t bought anything unusual…but then I realized that although I hadn’t done anything out of the ordinary for me, I DID pay $150 for 2 months for Bodhi meds. 

So, here I am again, freaking out about money and trying to cover my regular bills. I despise this feeling!!! I know that there is an end in sight, but it’s months down the road, not helping me at all this week. 

Here’s the ask: If you can help – even in a small way – donations are totally being accepted. Click the “Make a Donation” button and you can do it through PayPal.

Image

 

I know it’s not Mother’s Day. I just like the picture. 🙂

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

