Packing up

My start date for traveling is 10 days away. I’ve gotten most of the clothing and books boxed up. The last area left is the kitchen. Oh, and the freezer. It’s not full of food the way it was when I was in MN, but there is definitely food in there I need to manage.

Speaking of food management, I found today’s food management much easier, thanks to some helpful folks at work. Because my schedule is changing as I get closer to leaving, I was able to pick up my CSA share at Farmer Dave’s during my work day, and brought all my goodies back so I could share it with my friends. I took only what I was sure I could eat in the next week. I cannot recommend CSAs enough.

Really, I bought the small share this time and it’s still much more food than I can eat. Normally I would be doing much more management, cooking, freezing, figuring out how to make the food last. I would have ben pleased to have more than I could eat – but since I’m heading out, freezing isn’t a great option.

I have way more books than I ought to, but I just kept picking up the books thinking, “Oh, I can’t leave this one!” In my defense, I have to say that I have managed to leave out, give away, donate or sell at least three shelves worth of books (yay me!). I’m trying to sell the shelves themselves.

I also got rid of about 15 cords/computer cables. And two bags of clothes. I’m trying hard to leave behind all these ridiculous files of mine. I dump a few years worth of bills every couple of years – my plan this time is to dump them all. I’ll let you know how it goes.

My original plan was to rent this Uhaul and pull it across the country. However, at Barbarian weekend, my new little brother suggested that I buy a trailer. I was skeptical at first, but he told me I could probably buy one for about what it would cost to rent one, which I could then sell when I got to California. This seriously great idea never occurred to me. Before I got to work the next day he messaged me a few options he’d seen on Craigslist. Having a little brother is awesome.

I spent about a week looking, then finally went to see one in Methuen. The guy was awesome and I bought my first trailer.

Now if I can just manage to get everything I own on it…

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

