I’m all about no hate…

From the NOH8 Campaign

This…person from my school emailed saying we needed to fill out a form. I emailed back asking for clarification – for instance the form asks about my GRE scores. First, I took the GRE at least 10 years ago, I have no idea what my numbers were. But more importantly – I did not use those numbers to get in to this school – so what does that matter?

At any rate, she answered, then added, “You filled all this out on the form last year.” As if to say, “Duh, you should know all this.”

NOH8

I checked my own files again. This school has the worst administrative garbage of any of the SIX universities I have ever taken classes at. I’ve taken classes there 7 years (not all in row, but still). I am a pro at saving forms. I pdf everything I get, everything I fill out, everything with a signature. I have no desire to try to graduate in 8 weeks only to have someone tell me, “Oh, you are missing x and won’t be allowed to graduate.” No way.

More NOH8

I respond to her email and remark that I was confused about the form, thank her for the info. I added apologetically that I didn’t think I filled this form out last year or else I would have known what to do about those items I asked about.

Her response? “You actually have done this ever year – it is an APA requirement. Let me know if I can help you in any other way.”

No, these have nothing to do with administrative assistants…

Now, no hate for the new administrative person, but I have to point out that she IS new. She hasn’t even been there a whole year yet. And I admit that some of my irritation may be because she has not actually been very helpful to me since she started. The last person was extremely competent and very quick to respond to questions. Even if she didn’t know the answer – she could direct you to someone who did.

The new person has sent me more emails that say “I don’t know” and little else than emails with actual helpful information.

Furthermore, just because there is an APA requirement for a form, that is in NO way evidence that I have, in fact, filled it out. I don’t think she was there when the APA came in to evaluate, but she was surely there by the time we got out 7 year accreditation. Maybe this is a new form because of that? Who knows?

And there is a chance I did fill this form out, an infinitesimal one, but there is a chance. Maybe I filled it out in a classroom, in which case I would not have been able to save it. I’d buy that. It could have been in some professionalization class or something. That’s possible.

My issue is not with the form at all. My issue is with her additional comment after answering my question which seems to suggest that I should not be asking the question at all. Followed by another snarky remark that seems to suggest that I truly a dolt to not remember a form I have filled out 5 years in a row.

Ok, so maybe there is some hating going on…but now that I’ve picked out the images to go with my post, I feel a little calmer.

2 responses to this post.

  1. It kills me when idiots think I’m the idiot. Keep fighting the good fight!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

