Come into my circle…

I am a Deepak Chopra fan. It’s true. Although I would admit that freely a few years ago, now I feel I need at least a tiny disclaimer. I love much of what he wrote all the way up to his 1995 book, The Way of the Wizard: Twenty Spiritual Lessons in Creating the Life You Want. I don’t think I made it through that one, and I’m sure I didn’t manage the next few. I know he’s written many books since then, and I’m not saying I don’t like them, just that there just seemed to be so many – I got overwhelmed. I saw him speak in person at Mile Hi once and was completely wowed.

One of the simple books I really liked was Creating Affluence: The A-to-Z Steps to a Richer Life. If you are familiar with Deepak and Science f Mind, none of this will seem new to you. If not, just briefly, the idea is that we create our experiences through our thinking. His book was a way to use simple mnemonics to remind yourself to stay focused on the affluence in your life – the kind you have already as well as the kind you’d like to increase.

As you’ve probably heard me say – words are important. Go around saying, “That’s just too hard for me” and it probably will be. Walk around saying, “Everyone around here sucks” and you will be all set to recognize the worst in people. It’s not that the words/thoughts are MAKING other people crabby, but your perception of them is filtered through your own crabby lens. Conversely, if you are having a great day, just got a raise or had a great time with a loved one, you are more likely to be thinking, “I can manage this” and “the staff at this place really do a great job.” And voila, your perception of them will be more positive.

Again, it isn’t that you thinking that they were great necessarily improved their service, but your brain is hooked on that confirmation bias – you are looking for evidence that the staff is impressive. Just one quick caution. If a person is feeling particularly down, no amount of positive phrases is going to “snap them out of it.” Telling someone to “look at the bright side” might just get you a nasty glare and bad reputation. These things work best when they come from within the person – when they are ready.

A couple of weeks ago, I posted on Facebook asking for someone to talk to me about my dissertation. My committee chair is not particularly touchy-feely and sometimes I feel dumb asking questions (which is my own thing). I have never written a dissertation before, thank you very much, and I don’t know many people who have and no one in the same field. A friend I hadn’t spoken to in at least a couple of months volunteered, and that conversation provided me with some real momentum.

Next, a Twitter friend offered to look at my dissertation. For those of you who don’t know, a Twitter friend is someone you only know on Twitter. She is a freelance editor and her offer was even more important because it came at a time when I was feeling pretty overwhelmed. I feel overwhelmed frequently when it comes to the details of completing my doctorate, and my situation often leaves me feeling all alone in the world. I know that I am not, in fact, all alone in the world, but that fact does not necessarily keep me from feeling that way. If you’ve read the blog, you’ll know that feeling alone is kind of a theme for me lately.

Back to Deepak. As I said, the book uses simple mnemonics to help you to keep your mind focused on abundance. He has a catchy phrase or two to go with each letter. I liked the book, then listened to the cassette tape, later bought the CD which I eventually put on my ipod. I’ve heard it many times. I have some of those phrases memorized. I usually don’t listen when I need it most (note the caution above), because when I’m pretty low I tend to say all that is just a bunch of hooey (or the term I learned just a couple of years ago, “woo”). One of the mneonics that he offers for the letter T is that it stands for Talent Bank. The first time I read that, I think I started to think of all the things I’m not talented at and thought, well, that’s not very useful. Luckily I read on.

Talent bank – In order to maximize creativity and offer the best service, it is good to develop a talent bank or a coterie of individuals with unique and diverse talents and abilities and whose individual talents, when added together, are more than the sum of the parts. -Deepak Chopra

That’s good thinking, man. That makes sense to me and is such a relief! I don’t need to be ultra-talented at everything – I only need to remember to gather around me individuals with differing skill sets, so that I can lean on them when I need them.

Thanks, all you talented people in my life, for helping me do whatever it is that you do best, better. I appreciate each and every one of you, and hope that my talents add to your lives.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sara on June 20, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    You ROCK!

    Reply

  2. Deepak has said some things that have blown my mind. He was once talking about how every cell in the body works together, completely aware of what the other is doing. It doesn’t even matter what else he said in that speech, it made me realize how amazing the human body and mind are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

