Four hour body – week two

Here we are, two weeks into my personal experiment with the Four Hour Body (Tim Ferriss).

First off, having a plan for eating has always worked better for me. Trying to stick to the meal plan has forced me to plan ahead and prep meals – something I used to do but fell out of the habit. I manged to eat four meals every day, usually with the “early dinner” consisting of a Muscle Milk prepared protein shake. I just don’t have the time between clients to eat an actual meal.

Muscle Milk pretty much goes against everything I believe about food. It’s a box filled with chemicals, essentially. And, it’s icky.

Earlier this week (I think as I was trying to decide if it was ok to eat corn) I came to the realization that the Four Hour Body fat loss plan has no sugar in it. Which is pretty cool, especially since my recent interest in sugar. Back about ten years ago I did go off of all white sugar for a while, and I think that did make me feel better, although at the time I was very focused on losing weight and so when I didn’t see any weight loss, I stopped being so attentive.

Recently I saw a very cool video about sugar. I’ll share it with you – but it’s an hour long, so I’ll also share the short version.

So, at first I was assuming that Tim was getting some sugar in, because he admits to drinking some kind of diet soda. And there’s 3 grams of sugar in the Muscle Milk, so I was kind of counting that as fair. One day last week I went to drink my muscle milk and couldn’t get the stuff up the straw. Anyone who’s every drank this stuff knows that those attached straws are not all that great. If they get a hole, you can’t use them. Anyway, I pulled it out to check the straw and it was covered in gloppy goop. Blech. This made me think, once again, about the nastiness of Muscle Milk.

Sun Warrior

Trying to come up with another way to get in a quick shake made me wonder again about how much sugar is in diet soda. Because I have some protein powder that I really like – and by “like” I mean that it fits with my ethical principals. I like Sun Warrior natural protein powder – but dude – it doesn’t really taste good. Back when I was using it more frequently, I sometimes put in an Oreo for flavor. So, I really needed to know how much sugar is in the diet soda so that I can not go over that amount. Have I mentioned I don’t drink soda? Yeah, you probably know already that there is NO sugar in diet soda, but I was surprised by the news. And bummed out. Because Sun Warrior needs…something to be added if you want to be able to swallow it.

After some thought, I came up with a plan. I decided to get some sugar-free pudding mix to add to my shakes. Yes, well, sugar-free pudding also goes against my food morals, but you know, you gotta do what you gotta do. I am intent on following this plan through. I mean, hey, I’m eating meat, for pete’s sake. How bad could a little sugar-free pudding be?

Oh good grief.

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

