4-Hour Body – And go!

This book is awesome. I love that it starts by myth-busting all the ridiculous things that the media tries to sell us. He used himself as the guinea pig – more bonus points for Tim Ferriss. He then tells us to be skeptical – I don’t think he could have said anything that would have made me love him more.

It keeps getting better though (I swear I don’t own stock in TF). Next he introduces the Minimum Effective Dose – the idea that there is no reason to do more than is necessary to get the desired result. You know I love that idea. Next, more myth-busting and a wonderful piece on A Calorie is not a Calorie, something I’m very interested in.

The next main section is all about the psychology of motivation and goal setting. Yeah. I’m done. I’m officially doing whatever this guy says.

Lucky for you, you get to follow along, if you like.

For starters, I went out and bought a bunch of protein in the form of flesh. One of the motivators TF recommends is taking a picture of whatever you eat, and posting it somewhere that other people can see it. Interestingly enough, the thing that I’m worried about with posting my pictures (because you know I don’t have any problem posting pics of food) is that there will be meat in most of my pictures.

Like all of us, I have a number of identities. Some of the ones I like the most are my “mostly” identities. I’m mostly a vegetarian – I mostly don’t eat meat – but I won’t freak out if it appears on my plate. I already feel like a bit of a fraud because recently I’ve eaten fish and meat a couple of days a week to combat the damn anemia. Who will care that there is meat in my pictures? Nobody, I guess.

While we are on identities, I also identify myself as a runner. To tell the truth, I’m a mostly runner, too. I mean, I don’t actually run. I jog. I’m not very fast, and the only way I can manage any distance at all is by using the Jeff Galloway walk-run method. I mention this because there is another part of the 4-Hour Body that talks about getting faster and yet another on stamina. I want to do all these things, but one thing at a time, no?

This could be me…someday…

On your mark….

Get set…

GO!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Livingston, MT Cowgirl on May 20, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Running is running and the important thing is that you actually get out there and move! I love the run a mile walk a minute method and practice it when I do 1/2 marathons and always walk away feeling great. Awesome post, thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

