4-Hour Body and the Health Coach

In the midst of my dissertation disaster-extravaganza, I got a notification that a book I put on hold had arrived at the library, the 4-Hour Body.I don’t actually remember putting it on hold, but that happens from time to time. I just went and picked it up. I’ve been dissertating pretty much without doing much else for 6 days, I think, so I decided it was ok to read a few chapters of my new book before getting back into the work. I am finding it engaging, intriguing, and even funny.

He says not to read the book all at once, rather to pick a topic and read all of that, then maybe read others as you go. I started with the recommended reading for Rapid Fat Loss. He makes lots of great points, one of them being that if you measure, you’ll know better about what’s happening. I know this from first hand experience. While working with a talented personal trainer, my inches/body fat measurements were so much more telling than my weight was! He talks about a simple 5 location measurement, then adding up all the numbers for you Total Inches (TI). That way, you can keep simple track of your progress.

In the next chapter, he says, Before you go on, take at least 2 of the following 4 actions. Here are the choices he offers in my own words:

1. Take a picture of yourself (this helped me with Body For Life, too), put it somewhere you’ll see it often (he recommends the dog’s forehead)

A nice pic from 2005

2. Take a picture of everything you eat for 2 or 3 days. Use your hand in the picture for sizing. “For maximum effect, put these photos online for others to see.” Ha!! This is amusing to me because I did just that last month. My plan was to do it on a “closed blog,” as I didn’t really want everyone seeing what I ate(!) that I would invite my health coach to watch. I managed a couple of days, I think, before I gave it up. I have been using that closed blog to keep track of my migraines, too.

One of the meals I was ok with posting 🙂

3. Find someone to engage in a friendly competition with you, using the TI mentioned above (rather than weight). 4. Get a tape measure and measure, “both upper arms (mid-bicep), waist (horizontal at navel), hips (widest point between navel and legs) and both legs (mid-thigh). Total these numbers to arrive at your TI. I’m telling you again because I know you didn’t do it after the last chapter. Get off your ass and get ‘er done. It takes five minutes.” This make me laugh out loud, since I hadn’t moved from the chair since I started reading. Another of my own tips – measure from your elbow or knee or ankle how many inches up or down you are measuring (like 5 inches up from your knee) so that you measure the same place every time – something I learned from the PT).

I’d love to find someone who wants to join me on this – just a little friendly competition/motivation. I know it helps me to have someone else checking in with me, although I don’t feel very competitive in general. I’m excited about his ideas because they make sense to me.

Meanwhile, in other news, I hired a health coach. That is to start tomorrow night, and I am very excited about that too. Although I am wondering, to tell the truth, if that was a mistake. A little buyer’s remorse, maybe? I have no idea how it will go, never having done this before. I mostly believe in the premise, as I know that leaning on someone with professional know-how has helped me in many other areas of my life, even physical fitness (as with the PT) but it also feels a little scary to invest money in myself this way. Strange, isn’t it? That investing money in my health seems somehow…frivolous? Part of my goals with the health coach is, of course, weight loss, but I’m also interesting in decreasing my migraines, getting decent sleep and decreasing my depression.

From the health coach’s blog….I mean, she’s fantastic, right?

At any rate, I’ll be blogging about both as I go. Feel free to follow along…and drop me a line if you’d like to join me in some way. Who knows, I might let you in on the closed blog…if we get a bunch of people doing it, could be fun…

One response to this post.

  1. […] about food and eating many times, like that time I did the Whole 30, or when I was very in to The Four Hour Body. In my defense, those two and Body for Life are the only diet plans I ever followed (and the Whole […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

