Treats or tricks?

Here’s the thing about eating healthy foods. I mean, it’s good, right? That’s true. Good for my body and all that. The problem for me comes up when I decide to allow myself some junk food. Tonight on the way home I got french fries from my favorite place around the corner from work and a nice falafel. My friend got an eggplant sub. We did the food share thing and I came home with my booty, something I felt like I deserved because of all that I’ve accomplished on my dissertation this week.

It actually looked a lot like this…

I liked the eggplant part. It actually turned out to be something like eggplant Parmesan in a big…hoagie bread deal. Uh, yeah. I don’t really like big hunks of bread like that. I especially don’t like them when they are soggy. Even though the tomato sauce had good flavor, I couldn’t stand it in the bread.

Falafel

The falafel turned out almost the same, only it was a wrap. Now, I’ve eaten the falafel at this place before and liked it, but I didn’t think about the fact that when we go there, it’s for lunch and we eat there. My friend “doctors” her food, taking out the bits she doesn’t like, and I do something similar, peeling off the extra wrap. Which is an interesting thing all by itself. The falafel comes in two big wraps, I’m sure there are some ridiculous number of calories all by themselves. Anyway, the point is, it doesn’t get soggy when I eat it right there.

Also, I’m all congested now. I’m having some kind of allergic reaction (I’m guessing the bread or the tomatoes).

Here’s the problem part – none of these things are new to me! It’s just that I forget! I also know that taking food to-go usually means it’s not as good when you get there. I know that I don’t really like a lot of bread. I know that eating a big dinner leaves me feeling tired and lethargic. Yup. I know. Just have to be reminded from time to time. 

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

