Refitting the treadmill

As I mentioned in an earlier post, things are starting to slow down in my life here in Mass. I have a little more free time on my hands and I am feeling much more comfortable in my “new” apartment. One of the things that means for me is that my workouts have become much more regular. I am doing my run every other day again and back with my weights on the other every other day. 🙂

I’m glad about that but there was still one thing missing. One of the main reasons I bought the treadmill in the first place was so that I could walk on it rather than spend 3 or 4 hours in my big green chair while surfing or gaming. I heard the idea from some Facebook posting (see how social media can be helpful?) about treadmill desks and loved it!

When I got the treadmill I also got a SurfShelf to place my laptop on and rigged up some old pieces of laminate flooring to hold the keyboard and make room for a mouse. It wasn’t perfect, it moved around some and was always scratching me as I went around the treadmill, but it worked.

Traveling here, however, the rigging took a beating and was no longer functional. After joining the 30 Day Reinvention group led by Paige Lysaght I decided the time had come to get the treadmill set up again.

I am pretty tight on cash these days, but the scraps of flooring I had were not going to work any more. I started by making a template of what I wanted to build.

Step one

Next, I headed to Home Depot to see what I could see. I spoke to one of the many helpful folks you see around Home Depot and he suggested a thin but sturdy piece of … pressboard, maybe? He couldn’t cut it to shape, but he could get it close.

I love these giant saws!

He said I’d need a jigsaw for the rest – and good fortune would have it that that was one of the tools my dad left me. The board cost me $5.45 and I got a roll of duct tape and headed back home. Next, to figure out the jigsaw. I haven’t used one in years, like, 30 years, but I was sure I could manage.

Unfortunately, I discovered that the lovely new jigsaw I own is a cordless one, and no matter how I plugged the battery in, it wouldn’t charge. Luckily, all the new tools I inherited from my dad were a) cordless and b) made by the same manufacturer. After some fiddling, I found a battery that seemed to be actually charging.

Woah.

Meanwhile, Bodhi stood (laid?) guard over the piece of wood that needed to be cut.

You see my sturdy surface for sawing here, too.

Finally, I got it cut out and set up the keyboard – and voila! The treadmill is ready for hours of guilt-free-mindless-surfing as necessary!

One response to this post.

  1. […] As you know if you were following me with Bodhi, I did quite a lot of the work on my dissertation standing. Well, not standing, rather, walking. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

