Where does the time go?

For the first time in three months, I find myself with some free time. If you’ve been following you know that I’ve had a bit of insanity in my living situation. Luckily that’s been worked out now, and for Thanksgiving my honey came to visit, so that was a wonderful, full weekend. I don’t know how other people arrange their time, but a free day in my life always starts with the running plan. I like to run on an empty stomach. It’s kind of like a sports superstition, but it’s mine and I tend to stick to it when possible. So first I decide if I’m running and if I am I try to head out right away. These runs tend to take a couple of hours because usually at some point I let Bodhi wander around a bit.

Bodhi by the bridge

Afterwards I figure out lunch. This weekend was all about spinach, so I had a nice omelette with a bunch of spinach inside, as well as some potatoes and parsnips. It was so nice out, I decided to wax my car. My honey very sweetly took it to a carwash while she was here so it was all ready for me. It was the first time in forever that I waxed a car – it made me think of the hours I used to spend washing and waxing my mom’s car. By the time I was done with all this Saturday, it was late afternoon. The rest is kind of a blur.

I spent some time cleaning and doing some dog training. I spent a couple of hours on the phone and I think some time on skype. I know I had dessert before remembering I hadn’t eaten dinner and I caught up on my Italian soap, Un Posto al Sole. Anyway, next thing I knew, it was late and I hadn’t even spent much time reading Micro like I planned. I have no idea where the time goes!

Today went much the same except I know that I spent at least an hour managing all the fresh spinach in my fridge. I made a lovely pesto – two batches. One without cheese to freeze and one with cheese to eat right away. I vacuumed again, too and did some more dog training. Oh, and I cleaned the sliding glass door.

Amazing what a little cleaning can do

I hung some pictures, too, but ran out of nails so I had to stop. I forgot how much I love my small photo by Rodney Lough – and that there was something on the glass on the inside. So I spent some time unframing, cleaning and reframing this photo.

Passing Through - Rodney Lough

I also spent a good bit of time organizing my glove compartment. It’s always full of stuff and I can never find what I want, so I decided it was time to empty it and start over. When talking to my mom on the phone I am often struck by how much alike we are – but this project made me think of my dad. I found myself taping up this Skip-bo box (I have never played the game and I’m not even sure why I have it) to use as a pen holder.

The glovebox project

At first I was thinking I needed to tape the bottom to be sure it didn’t open, but then I decided I needed to reinforce the sides. Finally I thought I needed to tape over the top edges so that they didn’t fray. At which point I thought of my dad. My father never used one nail where he could put two screws and the things he made were more than sturdy. I made a nice spinach salad for dinner and finally sat down in the big green chair around 6 pm. My plan was to watch a Marilyn Monroe movie (I just finished listening to a biography about her and it made me want to go back and watch her again) then try to get to sleep early, but I’m still sitting here at it’s going on 9. I spent some time on the phone and skype, but I honestly have no idea what else I’ve done this evening.

And now I’m wondering – did I make good use of my free time? And where did it all go? Does this happen to anyone else?

One response to this post.

  1. […] I mentioned in an earlier post, things are starting to slow down in my life here in Mass. I have a little more free time on my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

