Apptastic

I don’t have lots of apps on my phone. And NO, it’s not just because it’s a BlackBerry and there are a lot less apps for BBS, but because I really don’t use my phone for much beyond email, Facebook, UberSocial (twitter) and taking pictures. I know it’s considered a corporate phone, with lots of great safety features, but I’ve never really used it (or them, since this is my 2nd BB) that way. Mostly I appreciate it for it’s ability to deliver mail from all EIGHT of my emails to one place, so I don’t have to log in over and over again to respond.

I don’t really play games on it, either, although I do have a few, Soduku, WordRival, Lexulous and SimCity (that one I blame directly on my Rumi – she and her addiction to that zombie game last year, I became convinced that I had to have a game to play too, but let’s face it, my tiny screen just isn’t game-friendly).

I have some other apps, too, Yahoo Messenger, Google Talk, Chronograph, Kindle, LinkedIn, the Library app, MySpace and even WordPress. The truth is I hardly ever use them, mostly because I am rarely without my computer where I can do any of those things faster and easier. But every once in a while I get a wild hair and become convinced that I need apps.

The most recent bout was brought on by my last run, where I discovered that at some point I deleted my Jeff Galloway 1-1 Walk-Run program (from MotionTraxx) from my phone – yes, a fate worse than death. I started my search looking for some kind of music program and then moved on to looking for a GPS tracking program. Of course, I already have a GPS watch that I use on most outside runs, but since I started running with the phone, I sometimes think it would be cool to have everything in one gadget. So I started hunting around and found Runtastic, two versions, free and one that costs $5.99 (it has a voice and the ability to track heartrate). But while I was reading the reviews I came across MiCoach, which I remember downloading before. I didn’t think I had ever used it, but I couldn’t remember why not. I downloaded it again. Hours later when I picked up my phone it was STILL downloading. When it finally finished, I tried to do the set up, but that got hung up several times and finally it started to download. When I got up this morning, it said it had some kind of error. I think this is the SAME thing that happened last time and why I never got to use it. Stupid thing. I deleted it. Then I started downloading Runtastic.

Meanwhile, I started looking through the “Featured Apps” section. And there I found ProOnGo. It’s an expense tracking app that reads photographed receipts and can export to Excel or Quickbooks (or other specialized spreadsheets). It also does milage tracking, time tracking and phone call tracking. It has a monthly fee after the free first month – there are individual and business options as well as options based on how many receipts you need a month and the like. For a small business owner like me, $2.99 a month (or $28.70 a year) would have been plenty. WHY have I never heard of this?!? I mean, a couple of years ago I was very careful with my receipts – here’s what they look like now:

I put them in here for “safekeeping"

Here are this year’s receipts:

If you look closely, inside, on the left side of the box is the divided folder I used last year to keep the receipts organized, at least by month. With ProOnGo I can even scan this box of receipts and have them entered into my expense sheet. Dude. Of all the useless, silly things on my phone…ridiculous! Unfortunately, I haven’t downloaded it yet. Why not? Because Runtastic is apparently also hung up in the download process.

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

