Getting serious about stuff

I am not a hoarder, I swear, but I do save things. Things that might become useful at some point. So what if that point is some far off, distant point in the science-fiction-like future. I might need it some day.

Back in the day, I moved a lot, and this helped me to stay light. There was a time when I could move all my belongings in my 1963 Blazer in two trips, one with only my mattress in it. But now that I have been a home owner since 2002, things have changed. I have managed to keep my book count down with ruthless culling every few years and I really don’t have that many clothes, but the the rest of the house…

Let’s start with the kitchen. The kitchen is out of control. I save bags and jars, plastics I mean to recycle. I have frozen food more than a year old. I have not one but two junk drawers, filled with pens and small tools, pictures and rechargeable batteries. There are power converters and my father’s slip on sunglasses. There are pieces of toys long ago broken and probably gone to the Goodwill. Tiny screws and rubber bands…you get the picture. No wait, let me give you one.

I have big things in the kitchen, too. I have a very nice mixer, a steamer, a food processor, an ice cream maker – and those are just the one’s inside the house.

Out in the garage are a number of other kitchen “tools” that only make it in to the house for special occasions, like the pasta maker. Oh, and the garage – shall we move out to the garage?

In the garage are all the gardening gadgetry I’ve collected over the years (just the smaller stuff, bigger stuff is in the shed). Little yard tools, and seeds, fertilizer (which I long since stopped using), weed killer (which I also stopped using) and those little pods for seedlings. I would dispose of the toxic stuff, but I haven’t figured out how yet…

Also in the garage are things I think I ought to recycle, but haven’t found a way or just haven’t gotten around to it. I have a chest freezer (more frozen food, most of it not too ancient). I have boxes and bags and jars…you get the picture. Then there is the stuff in the shed, luggage and more garden things, also some bi-fold doors and some stuff that was in there when I bought the house.

And we haven’t even gone into other rooms in the house! The good news is, for the most part, I think I can part with most of this stuff. My plan is to have a series of yard sales. I want to have the first one in a couple of weeks featuring garden things – rakes, lawn furniture, shovels, tomato cages… Maybe next will be clothing, sheets, household items, kitcheny stuff, computer stuff, electronic gadgets. Finally, furniture, books, games, plants, artsy stuff. It’s gonna be some summer!


Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

