Migraines and chiropractic

So, although most of my waking hours are currently spent thinking about internship applications (omg I am so ready to be done with this), I have taken a little time out this week for my body. To tell the truth (shhhh, don’t tell Amanda), I have hardly worked out this week. I just had so much to do with the writing and the thinking about the writing, I skipped a lot of my normal routines, even choir practice(!). But I did do one thing. I went to see a chiropracter for the first time.

I have been told by a number of people to do this, because of my migraines, but I have been hesitant up until now. And to tell the truth, I am still a little hesitant. Here’s the thing. I never even heard of a chiropractor until I moved to Colorado, and there I heard story after story – people who’s lives had been changed and people who believed it to be total quackery. There seemed to be a clinic on every corner and nearly everyone I knew seemed to have been (or was still going). It kind of scared me off, and at the time I didn’t have anything that I thought I needed to see any kind of doctor about, much less a chiropractor.

But all that has changed, and today I have been suffering from migraines for 10 long years and they seem to be getting worse again, so I took the plunge. I talked to everyone who would talk about it and picked someone based on personal recommendations. I went in for my first appointment and one of the first things they had me do was watch a video about chiropractic wherein patients said that it changed their lives, young and old. Two people talked about how much it was “worth” to them and one even said, “I’d pay ANY amount to stay at this level of health” or something like that. Several people talked about not needing but wanting to receive care for the rest of their lives.

Somehow, someone found out what my worst fears and preconceived notions were about chiropractic and set out to scare me even more!

The head chiropractor (not the one I was there to see) met me as I was getting a tour and held my hand a few seconds longer than usual and looked deep into my eyes as he welcomed me. I have to say I was creeped out. Also, there were a number of “laser” machines around that looked suspicious to me.

But the chiropractor I was there to see made me feel a bit more at ease. I got a good vibe from her (hard to get more woo than that!). I didn’t have any actual “work” done that day because she was concerned that no one had ever done any neck x-rays since my accident and felt better seeing those first. That seems medically sound, doesn’t it?

Yeah, so, after I get those squeezed into my schedule I will go back. Everyone cross your fingers now!

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

