Bodhi update and migraines

After taking my run Sunday, I walked Bodhi 7 whole tenths of a mile. When we got home, he was limping and breathing heavily. It was only about 65 degrees when we went out, but apparently even that was too much for him. I feel bad when he doesn’t get any exercise, but I get worried when he does get exercise and it seems to be too much for him. He only limped for a minute or two, and when Amy showed up later he had no problem at all leaping around the living room, so I don’t think he was actually injured, but I really don’t know what is going on for him. He went right to sleep as soon as the house quieted some, so I think he continues to be extra tired after just a short walk.

I had another migraine too. I started writing down how often I have to take medication again, and as a fellow migraine sufferer said to me, “if you are writing it down, it’s probably too many.” I started because Amy commented recently that I seem to have more migraine days than non-migraine days, and I got concerned. Since I have been writing it down, I 3 out of 5 were medication days. That is not good (duh) so I am back on the path again, seeing what I can do to slow them down some.

I have checked into things like migraine food triggers, and of course stress, but I also know that a lot of it might just be bad body mechanics after my motorcycle accident. I only had one or two headaches in my life before the accident that I thought might be migraines, and many, many after, so it seems pretty likely. That doesn’t mean that I don’t have any triggers, or that I always do what I need to to avoid such triggers. This one is a perfect example. I slept poorly Saturday night, then got up and went for a run. I finished my whole 5 miles (yay) even though at half a mile I could feel my footfalls inside my head (boo). Sometimes exercise actually seems to help, but I kind of knew Sunday morning I wasn’t feeling good enough to run. And once I was out, I just kept going. When I got home, did I drink a nice protein shake or eat a quick meal? Nooooo. Of course not. I started cleaning (prep work for writing, you know). I vacuumed and did some laundry, then Amy came and I chatted with her…. I finally managed to get my first meal in by 230 – that protein shake I should have had earlier. Yes, nothing like exercising when you already feel bad and skipping meals…

So now the count is 4 out of 5. Boo. Crossing my fingers for better sleep and promising myself several decent meals tomorrow.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly on October 18, 2010 at 10:55 am

    😦 Sorry to hear all of this. Oh Bodhi, what is wrong?? I would be so confused and torn as well. To exercise or not to exercise… And your migraines! How frustrating. I guess yeah, I’d probably feel pretty terrible if I didn’t eat right after a big run. And sleep completely throws me off as well. I’ve heard though that stress is a terrible culprit…my sister is a migraine queen as well. When she’s stressed they’re there all the time. Lets keep that number at 4. Oh and congrats on the 5 miler! You are doing well!! And it is showing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

