Bodhi gets out

In case you can’t tell, I am supposed to be writing something related to my internship application. I am not doing too well at that, so I have come here, to this blog, a place where I can write just what I want to. Yesterday was my “day off,” which essentially means I don’t see any clients. It seemed far from a day off, though, as I ran from appointment to appointment of my own. It seemed like I was late all day! By the time I got to dinner with choir folk (TCWC rocks!) I was kind of frazzled.

I mention this because I failed to give people any real updates on Bodhi – I’m sure people asked me and I am pretty sure I said something like, “Oh, he’s doing pretty well.” I completely forgot that he had a big day too!

Every time I get ready to run, he goes eagerly to the door. Any time I take him outside, he rushes towards the road. He goes a little nuts when I come in from a run, and stands panting when I jog on the treadmill. He really, really wants to go. But I was told that he couldn’t and further, I’m afraid that if I take him for a longer walk (we have been going one mile lately) what happens if he can’t make it back? I can’t just leave him on the sidewalk.

So yesterday I decided I would take him to the dog park near my house. I thought, who on earth will be there on a Wednesday at 10 AM?! At least he will get a chance to roam a little without the leash. Bodhi leapt into the car, and off we went.

Yeah, so there were 8 or 10 dogs there when I got there (don’t these people have jobs?!) and more arriving. But we were already there, so I decided we’d just stay 10 minutes. It didn’t seem fair to get him all the way there (and he knew where we were) and then take him home without every getting out. And who knows, maybe there won’t be any dogs for Bodhi to chase.

Right, right. Just keep telling yourself that, Martha. Of course Bodhi found a dog to chase right away, who was already being chased by another dog who decided Bodhi needed to be dominated right away. There were a couple of snapping and snarling incidents, but nothing major. Then the owner of the chased dog left the park to “empty out some coffee” down the street. Really?! I can’t believe people even do that! That dog then went to the corner of the park and watched his owner walk away. He stayed there in the corner, closely shadowed by Bodhi and the other dog till his owner came back.

Bodhi ran short distances but pretty fast for about 15 minutes, at which time I decided we had better go. He was drinking water and all that, but I had no idea how all that galloping about would affect him and I was starting to think that this was a bad idea. And then I started worrying about leaving him to go on my other appointments, how would I know if he had some ill effect from the running?

Well, as it turns out, so far there have been no visible ill effects at all. Hooray! Maybe he will be able to run with me again someday! For now I will stick to our walks, but I am hopeful again…

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly on September 23, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Yay!! That is great news, Martha! You guys are the cutest pair.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

