The path ending?

When the weather is lovely, like today, I enjoy running outside far more than running on the treadmill. See my previous post for details on treadmill “running.” I run almost exclusively on sidewalks or the road, even though I have read many times that it is better to run on softer surfaces, trails and paths. Apparently that is easier on your knees and so on. The problem for me, though, is that every time I try to run on a path, I stumble. I haven’t fallen very many times (thank goodness) but I have twisted my ankle nearly every time I tried to run on a softer surface. Also, there aren’t many paths near my house. Luckily, there is a nice path that goes through a wooded area which is quite close.

It's a nice place to run...

I had an injury last year, my first real running injury ever and it grounded me for several months. I have spent the summer slowly increasing my milage. I know the paths around my house from previous years running as well as biking, but on Wednesday when I decided to add a quarter mile, I tried a path I hadn’t used before. I figured it looped back around into this wooded area. It went uphill briefly and then opened up here:

Hmmm, not very promising...

Upon arriving at this dismal end, I was saddened. I took the time before stretching to take a photo and send the picture to my Facebook account. Amy and I exchanged a few lines about it and her walking path. Her walking path ended suddenly in some grass. “What is up with dead end paths?” she asked, “I hope it isn’t symbolic!” As befits my tendency towards optimism, I looked for some positive possible meaning. Amy wrote, “Well…it did turn into grass. Grass is nice.” Which is true. And hey, in general, I prefer green growing things to asphalt covered nothingness. Which brings me back to my path ending.

Yeah, no grass there. And, as far as I can tell, the parking lot is kind of a deserted spot. Yes, there is a ball field at the far end, but it looks completely unused, bits of grass grown up in little cracks, the pavement itself cracked and crumbling. So, what is my “green lining?”

It bugged me for a couple of days, but when I arrived there today, I had a new thought. Maybe what I am looking at is a space, a place ready that is ready for new construction. Maybe the end of my path is really a new beginning.

Yeah. I kinda like that.

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

