Loneliness and the West Wing

Tonight I stayed in with Bodhi and my migraine although I had a very nice invitation to out and see some live music. I felt a bit bad about not going because I know that when I’m down I isolate, then I feel lonely, which makes me feel down…it’s a nasty cycle. Luckily I had a few episodes of the West Wing to watch. Unfortunately, it was a Christmas episode.

I’ll try to get to my point without giving you too many West Wing details. President Bartlet has MS. In this episode, the DEA suspended the license of a doctor in Oregon who assisted with the suicide of a terminally ill patient (which is legal in Oregon). Some of the team wants to take a stand on the issue, some of the team see that as a mistake. Toby (the Communications Director) goes to talk to the President.

TOBY – One in five patients requesting aid in dying has MS. One in five. Do you know what the questions sound like?

BARTLET – I’ve got a pretty good idea.

TOBY – “How long does the President think he has before his MS will become debilitating?” “Do the doctors anticipate a speedy decline?” “Does he have a plan?” “Does the First Lady have four glass vials and a syringe in a lock box in the night stand?”

BARTLET – [beat] She may chicken out. Maybe I’ll call you.

After all the Christmas plans fall apart (as most of the family plans do “We’ve never been Currier and Ives,” says Abbey, his wife) the President and his wife sit quietly and he tells her he is planning to put together a panel on assisted suicide.

ABBEY – Your position has changed?

BARTLET – [shakes his head no] Uh-uh… No syringe in the nightstand. It’ll get ugly and that’s that… You gonna be there?

ABBEY – [long pause] Yeah. [stands to leave]

I felt pretty alone just then, thinking about who would be there for me when my time comes. I looked down and found Bodhi staring lovingly into my eyes (did I mention that I was snacking on popcorn?), and I swear, for just a moment I teared up, grateful that at least he would be there for me. And then it occurred to me that barring any sudden unforeseen incidents, I will certainly outlive Bodhi. And then I felt sad all over again.

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

