Running gear for the dog

How is running gear related to the dog, you might ask? Lucky for you, I am gonna tell you.

On the same day that Bodhi had his heat stroke, my very cool Bluetooth stereo headset also stopped working. The volume raised and lowered randomly and then it finally stopped altogether. The next time I tried to use them, I found that they would not turn on. I looked it up online and found that this was a common problem for these headphones. I started looking for a replacement. Should I try a different brand? Or buy the same ones? One of the things I found in my research was that all of the popular Bluetooth headsets had a problem with sweat! No, really. Over and over again reviewers said, “these work great, but not if you sweat in them.” I did sweat in mine and I managed to use them for about 15 months, so maybe that wouldn’t matter for me. And the headset that died is now half as expensive (of course).

Meanwhile, today I was out running with my old Sony over-the-ear headphones and I was thinking, “These headphones are really great. Why have I been looking at those wireless headphones, anyway?”

If you guessed it, you get 2 bonus points. Yes, I had them for Bodhi. No, I’m serious. I never had wireless headphones before last year. I have been using these $9.99 Sony phones for many years (not just one pair, I think these are my third pair, but at $9.99, I never cared much).

Now you can get them for less than $5!

Back in the day, when I was running with Detta, I never needed them. She mostly ran off-leash, she stayed pretty close most of the time. I ran with my ipod in one hand and carrying the leash in the other, in case some nice police officer came over and told me to put her on it.

Bodhi, as mentioned before, is always on the leash. And he was still a puppy when I got him and not too good at all on the leash. In fact, I don’t think I even ran with him that first year, it was everything I could do just to keep him walking beside me. I worked every day, three times a day, on that walking on a leash. It took a lot of time.

When he was finally able to go running with me, it was still touch and go for a while. There was lots of lagging and forging and the occasional cross-over in front of me. I had to keep the leash in both hands and be prepared to switch from one side to the other at any moment. It was some adventure in the beginning. 🙂 That was when I first started longing for the wireless headphones.

I made all kinds of good justifications for the expense, I wanted to use them also with my phone, and while gaming! See, so here I would have a headset that works in place of THREE! It was a savings, really, to buy this expensive headset. Further, in order to make this work with my old fashioned ipod, I had to also buy a little doohicky that gives it bluetooth capability. The whole rig cost me about $125 I think. And it was always a pain in the butt to pair with the laptop, and people almost always complained when I used them with the phone. It worked for me, but they got echo.

In the end, the real reason for them was Bodhi, and now that he is grounded, I won’t be shopping for a new headset. I’ll just keep on using my Sonys.

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

