He wants me to sit in the big green chair

So, here’s the thing. My living room is a bit crowded. It has two large chairs in it, a chair and a half with ottoman (that’s Bodhi’s ottoman, obviously) and a chaise. There is a large bookshelf, a medium size bookshelf, the treadmill (part of the reason I got that was to get the dog walking on it for days when I couldn’t get him out with me – too bad he can’t use it anymore) and a desk. Oh, also, two plastic drawer things and some plants. And the dog bed (duh).

Given that the room is a rectangle, there are only so many ways you can set this up and no matter what, it’s still pretty crowded. The desk, therefore, has taken up it’s place behind the big green chair (my chair). There was a book shelf there before but I took it down because I knew that I work better when I am sitting at a desk (rather than in the green chair with the laptop in my lap, like I am now).

And I have work to do. I am working on the final drafts of my dissertation proposal. I have it all set up so that I can use a regular monitor and keyboard, the whole nine yards. [Ha! On further reflection – a big part of the reason I moved the furniture – because I did have this desk set up in a different place before – a big part of the reason was because someone told me that to train the dog to walk on the treadmill, the treadmill should not be too close to a wall. Dogs won’t like that sense of walking “into” a wall, they said. That so cracks me up. The room probably actually worked a lot better before…and now he can’t even walk on the treadmill. Sheesh.]

It took a good Sunday’s worth of work, taking down the bookshelf, boxing up books I was sure I wouldn’t need (yes, of course then Keely starts reading Under the Dome, one of the books I put away and now I am dying to re-read it) and organizing the things I was sure I would need on the shelves that remained.

How often do I sit at that desk now, you ask? I gotta tell you, not that often. Every time I do, the dog goes a little crazy. No, not like in the old days, not leaping about, but he will come over and stare at me, whine, lie down in the little space between the chair and the treadmill, climb up onto the treadmill, whine some more…

He hates it when I go over there, no I swear! He really does. Even now, he’s peacefully sleeping, right. Now watch this. When I move over there to start working on the new edits from my committee chair…and he follows me right over. You see?He really wants me to sit in the big green chair.

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

