Accessories

I like to accessorize. I mean it. Each time I get interested in a new activity, my first thoughts tend to be about what I need to accessorize that activity.

Gaming, for instance. Once I became convinced that I was interested, I started thinking about video cards and wireless headsets – two things I never even considered before.

Cooking new and interesting foods = new and interesting kitchen gadgets.

Even running – something I started doing because it was simple and I could do it anywhere – got accessorized. I had to have an mp3 player (now, this was back in the day, before ipods if you can imagine that) then as I moved to distance running I needed more and more memory on that mp3 player… You can imagine my excitement at the first ipods!

I also became convinced I needed running clothing – I think this really started my first winter in MN. Dude, you need running gear to run in the winter in MN. It’s fucking freezing out there.

Next I needed a GPS watch, to track those runs. Back to winter, and now I needed a doohicky to tell my GPS watch how far and fast I was running indoors.

You get it, right? I have collected lots of gear and gadgets over the years, for a variety of reasons. Next, about twice a year I become convinced that I need to consolidate these gadgets. Why do I have so many?! Do I really need an ipod, a phone, a gps watch, wireless headphones, the wireless doohicky for my too old ipod….?!?!?

I tried a couple of years ago to make my phone do it all. Which started with a new BlackBerry because my old BB didn’t have enough memory for my tunes. And then I needed some nifty BlackBerry apps. But it didn’t quite work, and going inside for winter required a whole new set of apps.

Today I spent time looking at BB GPS running tracker apps. It looked like the one people like most was the AllSports GPS. Which is cool and all, and only costs $19.99. Dude, that’s a great deal, right? This app keeps track of your runs and plots it on a cool map on the website………..

Wait, doesn’t my $169 GPS watch already do that? Without even going online? And without the mysterious satellite errors people complained about? While tracking my heart rate?

Here is where I remember that a) I’m kind of broke right now, b) what I already own is doing everything I need it to do, and c) all this time spent researching would probably be better spent uh…working?

Back away from the ‘puter, …nice and slow…

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

