Cake

I was sick all weekend – perfect, right? That is definitely my style. I can go and go and go when I am working, but as soon as I have down time, I crash. Illness or migraines, take your pick.

Today, I have both. I am sick and now I have a huge migraine. I canceled on my last appointment and could not stop thinking of donuts on my way home. I saw some on a recent trip to Cubs, the evil grocery chain. I saw these chocolate dipped ones…Enetmann’s, they were. There was a box of them, several different kinds, but all chocolate. Mmmmm.

I let the Cubs pass, both proud of myself for resisting the donuts, but also sad and aching. I didn’t just resist because I am watching what I eat. I was thinking about how they aren’t really food (by the food rules of Michael Pollan). Lots of ingredients, with names I can’t pronounce, made in a giant factory…and it came to me!

Carol’s! Carol’s restaurant is on my way home, and they make lots of desserts by hand…no giant factories, ingredients we can name… But I already drove past it. I considered turning around, then resisted again.

I was so proud of myself! I drove a few more minutes…and there it was! I hadn’t actually passed it yet. I turned at the next light and got myself some fantastic cake. I am only going to eat half of it. I’ll eat the rest tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

