Weight release

So, like I said earlier, I am currently on a quest to release some weight to at least get into the running (ha! No pun intended) for the military internship. I seriously considered NutriSystem or something like it – fuck my food ethics and morals – I need that internship! But then as I considered the money I’d already spent on my CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) share and all the food I’d have because of it, I decided I’d be better off making up my own meal plans.

Also, I have a number of food “things” that make those kinds of plans not very useful. I’m a vegetarian working towards veganism. I don’t like to eat too much bread or gluten. I am opposed to processed foods. I believe in putting my dollar where my mouth is so I buy mostly organic, sustainable, local foods. I don’t like to eat in restaurants as these generally violate most of these principals. These food things are positive factors, however, if I want to design and follow a healthy meal plan, though, right?

More about me. I’m overweight. Not just by the military standards, in general, I am overweight. I have been for the last 10 years. While this is true, it is also true that I have eaten following many of those food things for more than the last 10 years. And I am a runner who has always liked to work with weights. I am not hanging around on the couch eating bonbons, is all I’m saying. And I have been to my doctor about my weight a number of times, too.

Of course there are exceptions. I had a number of injuries in the last year that cut my running way back. I was married for a while and my eating habits were definitely less healthy in those days. I often get crazy sugar cravings while having migraines. And I give in, too, sometimes. I’m no angel.

But I never really tried anything related to counting calories – in fact, I always scoffed a bit about it. “I work out!” I would say. “I run!” “I eat healthier than most Americans – what difference would counting calories make??” Yes, then about 3 or 4 years ago I met with a personal trainer who heard me say such things and said, “ok, lets look at what you ate today.”

I proudly told him about my meals – which included a sort of pasta salad. It was mostly fresh veggies, carrots, broccoli, mushrooms. There was some pasta, but more veggies than pasta. As I recall it had some kind of dressing I had made – something with fake sour cream. And almonds. The personal trainer was kind of naming out the average calories for what I was telling him and I was doing ok and then I mentioned the almonds. Which I had tossed in for crunch, and hardly considered part of the “salad.”

How many almonds?” he asked.

I don’t know. A handful?”

So, like half a cup? Quarter cup?”

I went for the quarter cup, since I was sure that sounded better. I had also snacked in my car on almonds that day. I did a lot of driving for work and I always had sunflower seed and almonds to munch on. I considered them a healthy snack. I agreed that that day I had eaten probably a half cup. If I was fudging, I was fudging down.

So…anyone want to guess how many calories in a half cup of almonds? No?

Here it is. Half a cup of roasted almonds have 411 calories! 280 of those are from…FAT. Yeah, ok, so good fat, bad fat, healthier than a candy bar, better than a frappuccino, maybe. But if you are trying to cut calories, a “handful” of nuts can seriously screw with your day!

I started just checking my calories on fitday.com – a free service that is pretty easy to use. It was easy to see how my “healthy” food choices were not working well for me. As I recall, I dropped a few pounds right away, just by keeping track. I didn’t stick to it, though.

Now, like I said, I am back on the band wagon. I am working with a personal trainer again, am injury free so my runs are happening and I am keeping track again on fitday.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Good for you. I’m in a similar situation. I don’t eat too badly and am working with a personal trainer but would really benefit from losing some weight. I just told myself – Okay, tomorrow. Since today was Father’s day and I didn’t want to hold back. Good luck.

    Reply

  2. Thanks. Yes, well, I took some kids out as a gift to their dad and was very careful and only ate a baked potato at Wendys (their choice obviously). Then I had popcorn and Reese’s Pieces in the theater. I did eat better for dinner, yummy pasta that I brought back from Italy with me. And some toast. Ok, ok, I didn’t really need the toast. Like you said, tomorrow is another day. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

