Migraine

I am having a migraine. I seem to have had a lot of them recently. Back in the bad ol’ days, I was having some ridiculous number – 23 migraine days a month! Then, they got better. I don’t really know why. I have tried a lot of things to decrease them, and I really don’t know what finally worked.

Things I tried:

Imitrex (made me too sick and never did knock out the migraine

Nyquil (before I had health insurance – it helped me sleep, anyway)

Maxalt (worked better than the Imitrex, then my insurance wouldn’t cover it)

Relpax (helps a lot, if taken with Phenergan)

Acupuncture (which helps during a migraine)

Massage (I did have one massage therapist who seemed to make a difference – until he didn’t anymore)

Physical therapy (I had the PT for other reasons, but some things she did seemed to help with the migraines along the way)

I also tried to limit certain foods, but after I saw the list of 800 “common” trigger foods I gave that up and only did testing on foods I didn’t want to have to give up. As far as I know, chocolate does not cause my migraines. 🙂 I did discover while listening to Dave Brodbeck (part of the Thunderbird Six Podcasting Network) that some high sugar foods that I crave when migraining may, for a short time, actually decrease the pain in my head…I often crave Pop Tarts, which I am pretty sure have like, 2 cups of sugar in them. You have to listen yourself to figure out why.

Additionally, my life has been one, giant stress ball for…well, as long as I can remember, really. I know this can have an effect. I’m cool with that. The thing is, I am past several of the large current stressors. I passed comps (that big exam for the end of my doctoral program) and I am no longer running around like mad, doing work and classes and practicum. I am finishing my last (cheering) class, in fact, something that I am extremely happy about. Things are kind of settling down for me. Yes, there are two more hurdles, but they aren’t quite so pressing now.

So, why now? Why have I had 6 migraine days out of the last 10? WTF?

Leave a Reply

Autumn's Inner Thoughts

Men, Dating, Dreams and Self-Reflections

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Average South African

Food // Travel // Lifestyle

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

How Useful It Is

Trying to be Useful, one post at a time!

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Rather Be Runnin'

It's true. I WOULD rather be running.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

A Touch of Everything

Beauty, Books, Lifestyle & Everything In Between!

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

B O O K W O R M A N I A C

a fanboy's eerie book blog

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

Taking one book and movie at a time.

bookspastandfuture

All the books read and not yet read

